Skip to content

Home SQA Advanced Diploma Subjects Hospitality Management

SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management

The hospitality industry is an ever-expanding part of the service sector, and one which is providing an increasing number of employment opportunities in many different areas, from hotels to conference centres and cruise liners.

The SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management consists of 30 unit credits. Each unit credit has approximately 40 hours of timetabled learning and 40 hours of self-guided learning and study. The SQA Advanced Diploma usually takes two academic years to complete, but this timeframe is flexible

This qualification can allow advanced entry to an English-speaking university. SQA’s qualifications are recognised worldwide.

Course Tutor Guide (including Course Framework)

Title: SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management
Code: GM5E 48

SQA Advanced Diploma in Hospitality Management Course Tutor Guide

Version Change - April 2020

A Guide for Tutors

Communication Units

This document is aimed at tutors who are teaching learners whose first language is not English.

The purpose of this document is to provide a selection of formative exercises that will:

  • motivate learners
  • increase confidence in communicating effectively in English
  • prepare learners to successfully pass the summative assessments

Communication Units for SQA Advanced Qualifications

Research Skills

The guide provides support for developing good practice in how the Research Skills unit might be delivered, scheduled and assessed. It contains guidance on delivering the Research Skills Unit both on a stand-alone basis or integrating with other Units, and provides customised checklists for integration with various Graded Units.